Monday, September 24, 2007

Annoyances of the Day Part II

Here's Part I (but that was awhile ago).

  • I find the fact that my big full-sized mirror behind my door every time I open it extremely annoying! Why can't the mirror be on the other side so that when I open my door, I can still see my mirror?! Whoever designed this must be a douchebag.
  • The weather today is...beyond nice..it's pretty much AMAZING. That said, why do I see people walking around with North Face jackets and knit sweaters?! Even jeans and sweat shirts should be disallowed on a day as nice as today! Enjoy the nice weather before it gets cold people! You'll have PLENTY of time to wear your cold-weather clothes, trust me.
  • I don't understand why people feel the urge to stand up to get off a bus BEFORE it stops. It's not like it'll save you any time--you won't be able to get off the bus unless it has stopped and the bus driver opens the doors anyway. Standing up does absolutely nothing, except you might fall from the jerk that stops the bus and as a result, bump into others. I always hate having to stand up to let the person in the seat next to me get up BEFORE the bus stops...JUST HOLD YOUR HORSES!!! Don't worry, I won't purposely block you so you can't get off the bus. I'm going to get up as soon as the bus stops!

ah...now I feel much better. :D

Friday, September 21, 2007

Mr. Fabulous

Tall.

Manly.

Confident.
Possessive (to a certain extent).
Romantic.


Spontaneous.

Caring.

Supportive.


Isn't afraid to make a fool of himself.
Cute.

"Smart" and "Trustworthy" are definitely other qualities that are up there on the list, but I couldn't really find pictures to illustrate them.

Out of all of these, I have to say that confidence and manliness are what draws me to guys the most, initially at least (of course they have to be taller than me too, but that's a given). It's just something about the way they present themselves that appeals to me. Although, there is a threshold for the confidence factor. Too much of it is NOT a good thing and a total turn off. In fact, a lot of times, the guys that I'm drawn to turn out to be jerks. Let's see...

Yep.

Definitely true.

So I think there are two types of guys that I, based on past experience, tend to go for. (The qualities listed above actually combines the two types.) The first kind is the kind that I mentioned above--confident, smooth talkers who know what they want. They're generally also smart and fun to be around. But they tend to make me paranoid and not trust them. In addition, they really don't give a s*** about me. They're selfish, and are only in it because they know they can get what they want (unless it's someone like me, who's stubborn, and don't give them what they want, and they end up leaving me). Although, even if I do give them what they want, they'll still leave me after they get it. So either way, I'm screwed. Conclusion: If they were my boyfriend, I'd have a rocky, but exciting-at-times relationship. And that's not the kind of relationship I want (I want the "exciting" part, but not the "rocky" part).

So...that brings me to the second type. This group is generally made of guys who are smart, fun, caring, and supportive. They tend to be people whom I'm very comfortable around. I know they'll be there for me when I need them to be. And I tend to have a lot of fun with this group as well. But, the attraction factor isn't as big as the attraction I have for the first type. These guys, I guess, are more "safe". I think if I were to be in a relationship one, it'd be a much smoother ride, which, in the long run, would be good for me. But I crave excitement, and I'm not sure if I can get that from guys in this group.

It's a tradeoff I guess.
Or maybe, I will find someone who possesses qualities of both types.
Maybe not.

Friday, September 14, 2007

Snotty Business

Picture this:
You're out with 2 friends, both of whom are of the opposite sex that you are and whom you don't know THAT well, and at one point, you notice that snot is hanging out of one of the friend's nose. (He of course, is totally unaware of it.) Also (here's the complication), you can't get tissues/napkins/etc. easily at the place that you are at. What do you do?
a) Tell him
b) Pretend nothing's wrong even though you are completely and utterly disgusted by the site
c) Silently pray that he'll notice it himself
d) Silently pray that your other friend will tell him

For me, the answer would probably be b). Why?
Ok, don't get me wrong. The LAST thing that I want is to make my friend embarrassed. And wait! Before you jump in with the but-don't-you-think-having-snot-hanging-out-of-your-nose-is-embarrassing-? argument, consider the following. Having snot hang out of your nose is embarrasing (to you) ONLY if you know about it. Sure, others might think it's gross and feel bad for you but as long as YOU are unaware, what's the big deal? True, when you find out eventually that you had snot hanging out of your nose for god knows how long, you might even be more embarrassed (and curse your friend--me--to death). But under the circumstances I've mentioned, where there's no easy way to get something to wipe it off, I really think this is the better solution. Because, if I told you in this case, you would have to LIVE with the embarrassment. And nothing is worse than LIVING WITH EMBARRASSMENT.

An additional factor is that these are friends whom I don't know THAT well. Translation: I'm not comfortable telling them things that might embarrass them or have them hate me forever because I've embarrassed them.

Now if the circumstances were a little different--i.e. there are tissues around or I'm closer friends to them--I would probably tell them.

Sunday, September 2, 2007

Spelling "Rabbit" Backwards

This is something I always ask people as a test to show how drunk they are. I also tell them to ask me the same thing to prove that I'm not drunk. I don't think it works too well most of the time because 1) "rabbit" is too easy of a word to spell and 2) because of (1), even the most inebriated person has a good chance of getting it correct. Nevertheless, I think this is something that one of my friends started in my freshmen year and it's since become a habit of mine to ask people this.

Speaking of which, I got ridiculously and needlessly drunk last night, which quite frankly, could have been avoided if I exercised some good judgment. In fact, I believe this was the most intoxicated I've been. It started with me and a couple of dormmates wanting to play Kings, a drinking game that n of us has played, but thought would be fun to. It was a rather impulsive suggestion on my part actually, as I've always heard people talking about how fun this game is. So there we all were, at 1 in the morning, armed with my laptop opened up to the wikipedia page on Kings, a deck of mini playing cards on the table, ready to play.

Basically, you put all the cards face down on the table and players take turns drawing cards, one at a time. There is an action associated with each card and always results in someone drinking. Here are all the actions:
2 = drawer takes two sips
3 = drawer takes three sips
4 = whores, i.e. all the girls drink
5 = jive, where the person who drew the card makes up a gesture and points to someone, and that person has to repeat the gesture that the first person made, make up another gesture, and point to someone else...it goes on until someone messes up, and that person drinks.
6 = dicks, i.e. all the guys drink
7 = heaven, where everyone has to put their hands up, whoever does this last, drinks
8 = mate, where the drawer picks someone to drink with him/her
9 = rhyme, where the drawer says a word and everyone after him/her has to say words that rhyme with the word that the drawer says, whoever messes up, drinks
10 = categories, where the drawer comes up with a category and everyone else have to think of things in that category
J = rules (my favorite), the drawer comes up with a rule that will remain in effect for the rest of the game. This can be anything. Last night, I came up with the rule of every time I drink, everyone else has to drink with me. :D
Q = questions, according to wikipedia, everyone is supposed to ask questions, one at a time, and whoever messes up drinks. We didn't really understand this and didn't really see how it can be messed up. So we just ignored this card whenever someone drew it.
K = King's cup, whenever this card is drawn, the player may pour a decent amount of whatever he/she is drinking into the "king cup" located in the center of the table. When the last (4th) king is chosen, the chooser has to chug the king cup.

Sounds like a lot of things to memorize, but after awhile, we pretty much got all the rules down. After finishing the deck of cards I had and a big cup of gin and lemonade (with a lot of gin in it), I was pretty tipsy*. Actually, a lot of what contributed to my inebriation has to do with one of the rules that a dormmate came up with: Every time someone says "ok", that person has to drink. This might seem like an easy one to follow. But I, for some reason, say "ok" a lot, and unconsciously most of the time.

However, at that point, the alcohol hasn't kicked in fully. So we decided to play again. Bad idea. EXTREMELY bad idea. After finishing about half the cards (and a lot more alcohol), I felt like I was pretty much about to pass out. Actually, more like the opposite since my heart was literally beating out of my chest. This was followed by a sense of intense nausea that probably lasted 2 hours. During this time, I could not move at all, since any movement would have made the nausea worse which would have made me throw up. So I sat on the floor, at points made my head on the floor too, which made all the blood drain to my head, which, actually didn't feel that bad. At one point I think I clutched a garbage can, thinking I need to throw up. In fact, I was sure that all I needed was to throw up. But I couldn't every time I thought of the intense unpleasantness of it. The last time I had thrown up was probably in sophomore year of high school, when I had the flu. It was one of the most unpleasant things I did. And I never wanted to do it again.

After sitting on the floor for what must have been a long time, I started to feel cold. In fact, I became so cold that I started shivering. I think it was because I was getting extremely tired at that point. Normally, I'd be sleeping at this point, so I guess my body must have grown accustomed to that and started to lower my body temperature. I decided that the best thing to do then was to take a scorching hot shower. Even the mere idea of it made me feel slightly better. But I still couldn't move because the nausea was still there. Thankfully, my two dormmates stayed with me this whole time to make sure I haven't died or choked on my own vomit.

Eventually, I mustered all of my strength and managed to stand up, albeit a little wobbly. I then managed (somehow) to walk back into my room, close my door, take off my clothes, put my towel around myself, open the door, and walk into the bathroom to take a shower. I must say, nothing beats a nice hot shower after extreme nausea and coldness induced by intoxication.

Finally, after getting dressed, I turned off the light, climbed into bed without bumping into anything**, and called it a night.

Note to self: NEVER PLAY MORE THAN ONE ROUND OF KINGS WITH ONLY 3 PEOPLE AND ALWAYS TRY TO GET A JACK TO COUNTERACT A RULE THAT MAKES YOU, IN PARTICULAR, DRINK A LOT.

*There were only 3 people playing, myself included. So, needless to say, we all downed a s***load of alcohol by the end of the first round.

**This is amazing because normally, after I turn off my light (which is by the door), I'd probably bump into 1 million things, bruising myself before I make it to bed. But this time, not only was I inebriated but I was also extremely tired.