Picture this:
You're out with 2 friends, both of whom are of the opposite sex that you are and whom you don't know THAT well, and at one point, you notice that snot is hanging out of one of the friend's nose. (He of course, is totally unaware of it.) Also (here's the complication), you can't get tissues/napkins/etc. easily at the place that you are at. What do you do?
a) Tell him
b) Pretend nothing's wrong even though you are completely and utterly disgusted by the site
c) Silently pray that he'll notice it himself
d) Silently pray that your other friend will tell him
For me, the answer would probably be b). Why?
Ok, don't get me wrong. The LAST thing that I want is to make my friend embarrassed. And wait! Before you jump in with the but-don't-you-think-having-snot-hanging-out-of-your-nose-is-embarrassing-? argument, consider the following. Having snot hang out of your nose is embarrasing (to you) ONLY if you know about it. Sure, others might think it's gross and feel bad for you but as long as YOU are unaware, what's the big deal? True, when you find out eventually that you had snot hanging out of your nose for god knows how long, you might even be more embarrassed (and curse your friend--me--to death). But under the circumstances I've mentioned, where there's no easy way to get something to wipe it off, I really think this is the better solution. Because, if I told you in this case, you would have to LIVE with the embarrassment. And nothing is worse than LIVING WITH EMBARRASSMENT.
An additional factor is that these are friends whom I don't know THAT well. Translation: I'm not comfortable telling them things that might embarrass them or have them hate me forever because I've embarrassed them.
Now if the circumstances were a little different--i.e. there are tissues around or I'm closer friends to them--I would probably tell them.
2 comments:
I would have done the following:
Me: "Do something for me?"
Person: "Huh? What?"
Me: "Curl your index finger and push your nostril closed. Just do it."
Person does it.
Me: "Now, snort in really hard like you're an addict needing that last shot of powder."
Low and behold, Person has removed said bogie.
:)
i would go for c or d
Post a Comment