Why can't I finish doing all I want to do in a day, in a day!?
Today for example, I wanted to:
- go return a wig at a Halloween costume place
- buy a shirt dress and a belt to go along
- buy drum mutes
- go to my drum lessons
- go eat ramen at this restaurant
- shop for groceries
- shop for non-groceries at Target
- clean my bathroom
- get ready for work stuff tomorrow
Well...now that I think about it, I did do everything on the above list.
However (yes there's always that unfortunate "however"), a bunch of new things cropped up:
- After coming home, I noticed I had a sinkful of dishes to be washed. And I knew that if I didn't wash them today, I probably won't wash them until another weekend rolls around and by that time, all the groceries I bought today would have gone bad. So I washed them.
- While taking out the groceries, I noticed, suddenly, that there was a HUGE spider next to a piece of paper towel on the kitchen counter. Yes, HUGE. As in as big as my thumb. If you think about it, that is pretty big for a normal household spider. It wasn't moving but I could tell that it was still alive, trying to fool me into THINKING that it was dead. But I wasn't about to be fooled--I picked up my right slipper and slammed it on it, before it had a chance to move. BAM! And just like that, it was dead. Only...now I had to dispose it. This part is actually more scary than it was alive because I had to actually pick it up--pick up the dead, squished, ugly, gross, spider--and put it in the trash can. For a second, I thought about waiting for someone to come over to my house and let them do it, but then decided against it. Afterall, it's probably more likely that I'll accidentally touch it while I'm making food or something if I don't get rid of it as soon as possible. So I mustered all the courage I had in me, used a plastic bag along with a paper towel, picked up the spider (what I was dreading the most was actually feeling the spider through whatever I was picking it up with...), and threw it into the trash. Needless to say, this took a good half an hour.
- Guru had sent me a few emails. As I mentioned, he's away currently, and will be returning to work in two weeks. We had some contact in the beginning of his absence (via email). But he hadn't replied me for awhile. So it was quite a pleasant surprise to receive emails from him. He was also kind enough to link me to pictures of his trip, which I took my time in enjoying.
- No shopping trip is ever complete without a post-shopping-trying-on of all the items bought. So I did that--put on my shirt dress and different accessories that I think goes with it--and strut around my room while watching Sex and the City.
- While watching Sex and the City, the most beautiful song came on. It was "Moon River" by Henry Mancini, I learned. And being the curious person that I am, I went on a search spree that went something like this (some of these happened concurrently): Google: Henry Mancini "two drifters" --> Download Moon River mp3 -->iTunes Music Store: Moon River --> Henry Mancini --> The Pink Panther --> Andy Williams --> Google: Moon River lyrics --> Wikipedia: Henry Mancini --> Andy Williams
And the time currently reads: 1:35am
X_X
I still have to take a shower. :
1 comment:
you're taking drum lessons? awesome!!! I know exactly how you feel about the spider...saw one in the bathroom the other day at least 3 inches long from foot to foot, hiding out in the crack under the tub. We also get a house centipede from time to time...urrrgh. Just thinking about it makes me want to turn on all the lights in this damn place and sit on a stool away from the walls...
Post a Comment