I feel like..when I return to school as a senior, I'll feel so old. I mean, not old old, but relatively old. Because, if you think about it, when you were a freshmen, the majority of the people in school is still older than you. And then, when you were a sophomore, that majority decreases. And so on. Until you're a senior--then, the MAJORITY of the people in school will be YOUNGER than you. And this goes back to the double standard thing. For guys, it's fine, and sometimes even appreciated, because their dating pool increases. It's normal for guys to go out with younger girls. But when it happens the other way around, it's not always acceptable. Actually, probably a lot of girls don't care about that anymore in this day and age. But it's still a factor with me. I don't like to date people who are younger than me. If our age differ by months, then I might be able to make an exception. My point is, when girls become seniors, their dating pool drastically decreases to the older guys in their year whereas for guys, it's the other way around.
Why is being relatively young so important? Because you get treated differently. No matter what environment you're in, if you're among the younger people in that environment, then people tend to treat you with more...leeway. People are more lenient, have less expectations, and in general, are nicer to the younger people. This can be seen in school--freshmen, true, are given a lot of crap by everyone else, but I think that they're also better treated by their older counterparts. In the family, the youngest one always gets spoiled--getting whatever he/she wants. And lastly, in the workplace, where I've been this whole summer, I feel like I've been treated with a lot of leniency, not that I did a lot of things wrong. I just mean that, whenever I'm given a task, and I'm not sure what to do, I don't have to have an explanation for it. People know and expect me not to know how to do a lot of things because I'm young and haven't had a lot of experience. I'm sure if I were 5 years older, they would be like, "Why hasn't she had experience? Why can't she do this well?"
Younger ones of a group are seen as cuter and more innocent. Which is good because if you're a person who learns quickly, you'll surpass everyone else's expectations (or a lack thereof) and wow them.
In conclusion, it's awesome to be young. And, as we are slowly finishing one part of our lives (school), we're starting out another part--fresh, and young.
2 comments:
I dont know why but that post made me think of 2 songs: forever young and time after time, ahahah.
Yeah sometimes I feel like I'm over the hill at the age of 21 it's kind of sad...but it might be nice to start anew again. That reminds me of some chinese saying about college girls relating to fruit:
freshmen: cherries (part of me marvels at the irony of this): looks good but doesn't taste good
sophomores: apples: look good, taste good
juniors: pomegranites: doesn't look good, but tastes good
seniors: carrots: not even fruit anymore!
yeah....*sigh*
yo post something!
Post a Comment