It's 12:24am and I'm working. Every night (Sunday - Thursday) I have 2 nightly calls with India. And then after that, I work for 2-3 hours. I might as well as just work at night and sleep during the day because everyday I get so tired that my efficiency at work might as well be zero. (Ok, I'm not that bad...I think)
Every Wednesday, there is an hour-long team meeting that occurs at 7:00am. Most (99%) of the time, I don't have to say anything except for the roundtable in the end, where the manager calls on everyone to see if they have anything else to add, at which point, I, like pretty much everyone else, say "nope, nothing from me." So usually, I set my alarm for 6:55am, which just gives me enough time to wake up to the alarm to dial in. Once this is accomplished, I then put myself on mute (i.e. no one else can hear me), and go to sleep for about 55 minutes, until the time for the roundtable. Usually, I have my laptop on my bed, very close to me, so I don't fall asleep completely and miss the roundtable.
Today, because I was having issues with my laptop screen, I decided to leave it on my desk. So I dialed in, muted myself, and then crawled back into bed. Slowly, I began to drift into a semi-conscious state where I can hear what people are saying on the call, but not so much process it... This went on for what felt like...maybe 30 minutes. Then, at one point, I heard "ok let's do the roundtable...". Since it's always in alphabetical order, I'm always last. After hearing people go before me, I prepared myself for my turn. (This usually involves me clearing my voice and practicing at least once, since I sound like a ... well, I sound nothing like myself in the morning). Then I heard, "H, do you have anything else[to say]?" "Nope, I'm good," I said. "Ok folks, that's all for today..."
some time later...
I woke up to an alert sound from my computer. I looked at the time: 8:30am...
!!!
UM...have I been dreaming this whole time??
Thursday, April 23, 2009
Thursday, April 9, 2009
Someone stole my yogurt!!!
I put 2 bottles of yogurt in the company communal fridge on Tuesday. I didn't have any yesterday. Today, when I opened it, there's only one!!!
That is NOT cool!
I didn't know people do that! I thought we're all responsible adults with MORALS! See, now I could take the bottle of Starbucks Mocha from the fridge since someone stole my yogurt. Buttttttttttt I'm not going to. I'm above that.
I put 2 bottles of yogurt in the company communal fridge on Tuesday. I didn't have any yesterday. Today, when I opened it, there's only one!!!
That is NOT cool!
I didn't know people do that! I thought we're all responsible adults with MORALS! See, now I could take the bottle of Starbucks Mocha from the fridge since someone stole my yogurt. Buttttttttttt I'm not going to. I'm above that.
Thursday, April 2, 2009
Taken from F*** My Life, a site where people share amusing (though not to the person it happened to) everyday anecdotes:
"Today, my friend was saying how her 'nano' died. I quickly responded by saying "so? recharge it." Turns out she didn't say 'nano', she'd said 'nana'. FML
"Today, my friend was saying how her 'nano' died. I quickly responded by saying "so? recharge it." Turns out she didn't say 'nano', she'd said 'nana'. FML
Wednesday, April 1, 2009
Word of the Day
apposite -- –adjective. suitable; well-adapted; pertinent; relevant; apt: an apposite answer.
This word cracked me up for 5 minutes straight. When you say this word, it just sounds like you are trying to say "opposite" but are mispronouncing it for some reason. Or it sounds like you have a Southern or some kind of weird accent... For example, try saying this out loud, "Those are apposite views." I think the "a" in there is just hilarious... Maybe I'm placing too much emphasis on the "a" and dragging it out way longer than I should? I'm sure even if I used it correctly, people will still think I'm saying "opposite" because no one uses "apposite". There's "apt" for that.
Other news--
This word cracked me up for 5 minutes straight. When you say this word, it just sounds like you are trying to say "opposite" but are mispronouncing it for some reason. Or it sounds like you have a Southern or some kind of weird accent... For example, try saying this out loud, "Those are apposite views." I think the "a" in there is just hilarious... Maybe I'm placing too much emphasis on the "a" and dragging it out way longer than I should? I'm sure even if I used it correctly, people will still think I'm saying "opposite" because no one uses "apposite". There's "apt" for that.
Other news--
- changed blog name/address to reflect more recent ... happenings.
- yes, in case you haven't noticed, I've merged my long-time inactive blog with the other blog I had, which I kept secret for awhile. So all the posts that you see here from 9/7/2008 until now have been created in the other blog
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)