Friday, May 18, 2007

Something Unexpected

Living in dorms has its ups and downs. One of the downsides is that it's inevitable that you'll have to share the bathrooms with others who live around you. The dorm I currently reside in has co-ed bathrooms, that is, both guys and girls can use the same bathroom. Basically, when you open the bathroom door (cannot be locked), there'll be a mirror in front of you, below which are two sinks, and to your left is the shower stall (can be locked) and to your right is the bathroom stall (can be locked). This way (by not allowing the main bathroom door to be locked), more than one person can be in there doing different things (i.e. someone can be taking a shower, someone else can be washing their hands, brushing their teeth, etc), which greatly increases the efficiency of the bathroom.

Most of the time, I'm fine with this set up. I don't mind it when I'm taking a shower, and some guy is outside brushing his teeth because the shower stall can be locked. What I do mind, is having someone else by the sink when I go brush my teeth and wash my face in the morning. Ok, first of all, I look like crap when I first get out of bed. Therefore, I'm in no mood whatsoever to see someone and feel compelled to strike up a conversation with them. Here's the typical morning-in-the-bathroom convo:
A: Hey H how's it going?
me: Hey A, not much..
--silence as we each do our stuff--

Needless to say, it's pretty awkward. This awkwardness, however, is helped by the fact that I'm barely awake when I go brush my teeth and therefore don't really give a crap who I see/talk to. And because I'm barely awake, it's very likely that I won't remember the conversation that clearly in case something embarrasing/awkward did happen.

That said, I encountered someone in the bathroom this morning who made this ordeal much less awkward. So, here's what happened. I woke up, lied in bed for 10 minutes, finally mustered all of my energy and sat up, only to fall right back down again, lied in bed for another 3 minutes, and forced myself to get off of the bed. Then, I think I stood in my room for about 1 minute, trying to wake up. Next, I squeezed some toothpaste onto my toothbrush, took my toothbrush, mouthwash, and face wash and stumbled out of my room. Now the bathroom is right across from my room so I, as usual, forget to listen to see if there's anyone else in there, pushed the door open and saw that there was a guy there by the sink. Great, the last thing I need is for a guy to see me when I'm in no condition or mood to talk, and frankly, be seen.

I've seen this guy around here and there the whole semester, but never thought to actually introduce myself to him.
"Hi, " he said.
"Hey", I replied, trying to be nice, even though I felt a little awkward since I've never talked to him before.
"Done with all your finals?" I heard him say.
"Yea. You?" I said.
"Yea I'm pretty much done. What finals do you still have left?"
"Huh? Oh...I thought you said 'Done with all your finals?'"
"Oh (chuckles), no I said 'Do you still have more finals?'" (It's funny how things play out in my ears sometimes)
...

Anyway, so we chatted for awhile. The whole time I felt completely comfortable because he seemed so nice. (God I hope he didn't make small talk with me because he felt awkward and uncomfortable.) I found out that he's a senior who's going to medical school in the fall. It's a shame that I only met him today, the second to last day of the school year. I'm sure if we met some time earlier, we could have become good friends.

That's the thing about me. I could always make more friends if I just tried, but I'm always just so lazy and don't feel the need to. Making friends is something that takes time, energy, and commitment, some of which I lack depending on what time of the semester it is. Another thing is, I always wait for other people to introduce themselves to me, which doesn't always work out in my favor.

It's unfortunate because I'm a person who loves company and having a good time and yet, I don't think I get enough of that these days. I'll definitely make more of an effort to meet people and make new friends this summer.

No comments: